Astrology‎ > ‎

The Harmonic Charts Of Jyotish, Vedic Astrology

by Jai Maharaj

Harmonics have always been considered of great importance in Vedic astrology. For example, the ninth harmonic chart, the Navaunsh Varg: (some people write it as "Navamsa"), is very significant in relation to the Moon. This chart is always kept alongside the main Rashi chart when an interpretive report is being written. One derives from it the latent factors operative throughout a person's own and married life.

Ancient sage-scientists determined the relationships between planetary `harmonics' and human affairs and their causative factors. Practitioners of traditional astrology draw from these empirical data, available in the form of Sanskrit verses, in service to their clients.

The modern urge to satisfy the curiosity about the how's and why's of natural laws is often considered a necessity by some. To them, a science is a science only if it can gain entrance through their self-defined gates of intellect. This is one of the chief limiting factors responsible for the current disasters modern science has wrought on mankind, creating more problems than it attempts to solve.

Dr. Percy Seymour, a professor of astronomy in Plymouth, U.K. has his own way of explaining why `harmonics' work. According to him, the Navaunsh chart of Vedic astrology works, for instance, because of the magnetic field of the Moon. Basically, the magnetic field of Earth is reflecting how the planets are moving around the Sun and even how the Earth is moving around the Sun. So, Earth's magnetic field is resonating. Added to this, as the Moon goes around the Earth it affects the tides not only in the ocean but also in the magnetosphere. These have higher-order harmonics and Dr. Seymour's idea of all these tunes being played by the planets on the magnetic field of the Earth naturally gives rise to harmonics.

Percy Seymour then attempts to establish a connection between our electric-current based nervous system and the harmonic fluctuations in the geomagnetic field. So, the complex tunes played by the planets in our magnetic environment affect each one of us in a unique manner -- as if we don't always listen to the whole symphony but only respond to certain melodies. According to Seymour, the way we listen to the selected portions depends on our genetic peculiarities which are themselves related to the harmonics created by the planetary orchestra. Hence, predictions of how we may respond to future planetary positions are possible.

These Varg:, or charts, have been continuously used in Vedic astrology for millennia. The list contains the most commonly used ones of all with a brief note about their application:

                      Division Used for Determining
                      """""""" """"""""""""""""""""
           Natal Rashi:   1    Overall considerations
Hora (from the
Sanskrit word Ahoratr):  1/2   Personality; wealth, etc.
               Drekkan:  1/3   Relationship with siblings
         Chaturthaunsh:  1/4   Fixed property, assets, fortune
             Saptaunsh:  1/7   Children, extended progeny
              Navaunsh:  1/9   Latent Karmic details, marriage
             Dashaunsh:  1/10  Power, heroism, career, etc.
          Dwadashaunsh:  1/12  Parental, grand-parental factors
          Shodashaunsh:  1/16  Means of travel, etc.
            Vimshaunsh:  1/20  Karmic seeding, spiritual actions
      Chaturvimshaunsh:  1/24  Intellectual  pursuits, education
       Saptavimshaunsh:  1/27  Special, variable hidden powers
           Trimshaunsh:  1/30  Mainly used for females
           Swavedaunsh:  1/40  Various attainments
         Akshavedaunsh:  1/45  Various achievements
          Shashtyaunsh:  1/60  All levels of human activity
                  Nadi: 1/150  Extremely refined characteristics
-=Om Shanti=- Jai Maharaj, Jyotishi, Vedic Astrologer